Skip to content

The Birth of a New Collection

Check out this precious blog post from our Chief Creative Office, Blythe Harris. See the original post HERE.

How fitting it seems for me to be introducing our new Little Girls Collection of jewelry just days before the birth of my second child. While the circumstances are coincidental, I keep thinking, perhaps it’s fate that our Little Girls Collection will be born about the same time! While I’m still in suspense about the gender of baby #2, I can tell you that baby #1, my precious little Olive, cannot keep her hands off these adorable new styles!

The Little Girls Collection designs came so naturally for me. The starting point was a desire to create a way for little girls to participate in fashion and bond with their moms over something so fun and adorable. Of course, I wanted to build in the versatility and irresistibility we strive for in all Stella & Dot jewelry.

For this collection, inspiration came in a variety of ways… a treasure trove of vintage beads that I found in a flea market… an adorable assortment of ribbons (especially pink gingham)… and Olive’s favorite children’s book: Toes, Ears and Nose by Marion Dane Bauer for its interesting colors.  I was also inspired by flower motifs, especially daisies, which were my grandma’s favorite flower. The daisy on the Little Dottie Necklace and Bracelet is actually a custom reproduction of my grandma’s favorite daisy brooch.

My hope is that the Little Girls Collection will inspire moms (or any women with special little girls in their lives) to play together, bond together and perhaps share a blooming love for fashion.

Xoxo,
Blythe Harris

Leave a Reply

